By the mccQbank team
Short answer: the best MCCQE question bank that fits you depends on three things most comparison lists skip. Does it match the exam as it is now, 230 multiple-choice questions with no CDM section? Is it in the language you’ll write in? Does it cover the Canadian material that US banks miss, like ethics, law and population health? This page compares the main options on those points, using each vendor’s own published figures. We checked them on 23 September 2026.
A disclosure before anything else: we make mccQbank, one of the banks below. So every figure about a competitor links to that competitor’s own page, and we list where we are weaker, not only where we are stronger. If a number has changed since we checked, the vendor’s page is right and this page is out of date. Tell us and we’ll fix it.
What the MCCQE looks like now
A qbank should train you for the exam you’ll sit, so start with the exam itself:
- Format: 230 multiple-choice questions in two sections of 115. You get up to 2 hours 40 minutes per section, and pilot questions are mixed in (MCC: MCCQE).
- CDM removed: the Clinical Decision-Making section, 38 short-answer cases, was dropped from April 2025 (MCC: changes to the MCCQE Part I in 2025).
- Pass score: 439 on a 300–600 scale, from the April 2025 session onward (MCC announcement).
- Name: since 1 April 2026 it is called simply the MCCQE, with “no changes to the examination itself” (MCC: name update).
Any bank still selling CDM practice, or describing a 210-question exam, is describing the old exam.
How the main MCCQE question banks compare
Prices are in Canadian dollars unless noted, as listed on each vendor’s page on 23 September 2026. Question counts are the vendor’s own claims; we have not counted them.
| Question bank | MCCQE questions (vendor’s claim) | Shortest plan | About 3 months | French | Matches the current format? | NAC OSCE practice | Free trial |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| mccQbank | 2,400+ | $119 / 30 days | $299 / 90 days | Yes, every MCQ | Yes | Yes, 122 timed stations (separate plan) | 30 questions |
| CanadaQBank | 3,580 | $145 / 1 month | $235 / 3 months | Not stated | Its exam page still describes 210 MCQs plus 38 CDM cases | Not stated | Demo |
| QBankMD | 3,927 (3,800+ in its pricing section) | $135 / 1 month | $225 / 3 months | Yes, whole platform | MCQ-only | Not stated | 20 questions |
| AceQBank | 2,950+ | $339 / 3 months | $339 / 3 months | Not stated | Still sells a CDM product | Not stated | 21 questions, 5 days |
| AMBOSS | 1,800+ | 50 questions a month with a standard account; full bank needs a Qbank upgrade | Not stated | Not stated | Yes, and says so | Separate NAC study plan | 5 days |
| PracticeMed | 1,600+ | $119 / 30 days | $225 / 90 days | Yes | MCQ-only | Not stated | 20 questions |
| Passmed | 3,123+ | $96 / 6 months | — | Not stated | MCQ-only (single best answer) | Not stated | 7 days + 50 questions |
“Not stated” means we couldn’t find it on the vendor’s own site. It does not mean the feature is missing. AceQBank’s pricing page doesn’t show a currency. UWorld does not list an MCCQE product; its International Clinical QBank page doesn’t mention the MCCQE or Canada. Toronto Q-Bank, AllQbanks, TopQbank and UniBanQ also sell MCCQE practice, but their pages don’t publish enough (price, question count or language) for a fair row.
Don’t skip the MCC’s own practice exams
The Medical Council of Canada sells its own practice tests, written the same way as the real exam (MCC preparatory products):
- Preparatory Examination (PE): 230 questions, $400, 180 days of access.
- PE-Lite: 115 questions, $250 per form, with two forms available.
- $1 PE: 230 questions for $1, available since July 2026 and identical to the full-price PE (MCC announcement).
- Free set: 55 MCC-style questions in English and French (MCC: 55 free questions).
One caution: the MCC says a PE score “has no correlation with the MCCQE score scale” (PE FAQs). Use it to find weak areas, not to predict a score out of 600. We cover how to fit it around a question bank in MCC’s $1 Preparatory Exam.
How to choose the best MCCQE question bank, by situation
You’ll write in French. Your choice narrows to banks that state full French: mccQbank, QBankMD and PracticeMed. The MCCQE is offered in both languages, and practising in the language you’ll write in matters more than a few hundred extra questions.
You’re an IMG writing the MCCQE and the NAC in the same year. Most IMGs need both for CaRMS (CaRMS: MCC exam requirements). Check whether a bank covers the NAC too, or budget for a separate NAC resource. mccQbank’s NAC plan has 122 timed OSCE stations across 16 organ systems. AMBOSS offers a NAC study plan.
You studied on a US-style curriculum (including the Caribbean) and already use UWorld or AMBOSS for the USMLE. Your clinical knowledge will carry over. The gap is the Canadian material: ethics and law, the Canada Health Act, provincial public health and screening guidelines. Add a Canadian bank for those areas rather than starting over. Our MCCQE vs USMLE Step 2 CK guide covers the overlap.
You want the most questions for the money. By the vendors’ own counts, CanadaQBank (3,580) and QBankMD (3,927) are the largest. Passmed is the cheapest listed plan ($96 for 6 months). Check that whatever you buy reflects the current format.
You’re short on time. Size matters less than coverage of the MCC objectives. Look for explanations that tell you which objective a question tests, so you can see gaps by objective rather than by specialty.
Five things to check before you pay for an MCCQE question bank
- Is it the current exam? Look for 230 MCQs and no CDM. If the sales page still describes CDM, ask when the questions were last reviewed.
- Is it mapped to the MCC objectives? The MCC publishes its exam objectives. A good bank tells you which objective each question tests.
- Does it cover the Canadian-only material? Ethics, law, population health and epidemiology are where USMLE-trained candidates lose marks.
- Is it in your exam language?
- Try before you buy. Every bank above offers free questions. Do 20–30 from two or three banks. See whose explanations you’d actually read at 11 p.m.
Where mccQbank fits, honestly
- Where we’re stronger:
- Every one of our 2,400+ MCQs is in English and French.
- The bank is built for the current MCQ-only exam.
- It has a dedicated public health, ethics and epidemiology module.
- The same account can add 122 NAC OSCE stations.
- Our bundles carry a money-back pass guarantee. It has conditions, which are on the pricing page.
- Where we’re not:
- We’re not the largest bank. CanadaQBank and QBankMD both list more questions.
- Our 90-day MCCQE plan ($299) costs more than their 3-month plans ($225–$235). Our bundles, which add the Crash Course, start at $374 for 90 days.
Why 2,400 questions and not 4,000? Because we don’t bulk-produce them. Every question is reviewed by Canadian medical students who performed strongly on their own exams, then tested with other students before it goes live. The bank is led by Dr. Bilal Akil, emergency physician and Schulich faculty at Western University, who received Schulich’s Windsor Campus Sub-Specialty Faculty of the Year Award of Excellence (2025), with physician contributors from McMaster University. About 800 more questions are in final review and are due by mid-October 2026.
Try 30 free questions and compare them with anyone else’s free set.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best question bank for the MCCQE?
There isn’t one best bank for everyone. Pick one that matches the current 230-question MCQ format, covers Canadian ethics and population health, and is in your exam language. Then add the MCC’s own $1 Preparatory Examination.
Is UWorld enough for the MCCQE?
UWorld does not list an MCCQE product. Its clinical questions help, but they don’t cover Canadian law, ethics or public health, which the MCCQE tests.
Are there free MCCQE questions?
Yes. The MCC offers 55 free questions in English and French, and a full 230-question practice exam for $1. Most commercial banks also give 20–50 free questions.
Do I still need to practise CDM?
No. The MCC removed the CDM section from April 2025. The exam is now 230 multiple-choice questions.
Is there a French MCCQE question bank?
Yes. mccQbank, QBankMD and PracticeMed state full French. The MCC’s free 55-question set is also in French.
Figures checked against each vendor’s and the MCC’s own pages on 23 September 2026. Vendors change prices and content, so check before you buy.